AAO25.com

America's Army => mAAp Project => Topic started by: ELiZ on Wednesday, August 21, 2013, 22:00:35 PM

Title: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Wednesday, August 21, 2013, 22:00:35 PM
To create a SAI Image to a new map(or one of the old that don't have any yet) you have to create an image that you know the x and y offset from Origo(0,0), you also need to know what Scale(from what height the Image Was taken)

I have used that SAI information from the 2.8.5 as much as possible.
For the few [mAAp]'s  I've created SAI information for, I converted the map to AA285 and created the SAI Image with the built in tools in then AAMission Editor. But even them are in most cases off in scale, and have to corrected afterwards.
The Image must be added into the T-SAI.utx package, into the Group call SAI, and the name should be same as the file on disk(without .aao), with the text t_maps_sai_ added before it

like this

T-SAI.SAI.t_maps_sai_mp_sf_oldtown

This is the information needed to be added for each map in Antipoke.ini:

SAI_MapName=MP_SF_OldTown
SAI_MapOffset=(X=-80.000000,Y=1200.000000,Z=0.000000)
SAI_MapSize=4890.000000
;RadarZoomLevels=(X=60,Y=30,Z=15)

Last row is information  that I haven't started using yet, but intend to Activate in a later version


The problem I have is I have no foolproof way of taking SAI images in 2.4.1.
Even when I get a picture taken on a scale I know, the image itself is crap.. zoneinfo's making stuff disappear, So I need a unrealED Master to help out and see if we can get images to the missing maps
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Wednesday, August 21, 2013, 22:07:08 PM
In the SAI code, Offset and MapSize is used in functions like this:

Code: [Select]
Function vector WorldToMapCoords (Vector VectorInWorldCoords)
{
local Vector Result;
Result.X=(VectorInWorldCoords.X - MapOffset.X) / MapSize;
Result.Y=(VectorInWorldCoords.Y - MapOffset.Y) / MapSize;
Result.Z=VectorInWorldCoords.Z;
Return Result;
}

Code: [Select]
Function RadarSetZoom (float Meters)
{
if (Meters >= 1)
{
RadarZoom=FClamp(MapSize / (Meters * 52.200001),1,1000);
}
}

RadarSetZoom is set by the RadarZoomLevels

RadarSetZoom(RadarZoomLevels)

With then RadarZoomLevels array hardcoded with these values
Code: [Select]
RadarZoomLevels[0]=60;
RadarZoomLevels[1]=30;
RadarZoomLevels[2]=15;
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 11:46:47 AM
I've tried this to get the Viewport in UnrealEd to "be" in a specific location when I take the ScreenShot:

I've tried to force the viewport to be in a specific location, by issuing this command in the Log window
Code: [Select]
jumpto 0 0 14000The above command, does work, but it will only set x and y, z is unaffected.

Then I tried to add a temporary Actor to the map that I could Align Viewport To this Actor

Code: [Select]
Begin Map
Begin Actor Class=AGP_Viewpoint Name=AGP_Viewpoint1000
    Location=(X=-32,Y=-32,Z=3968)
    Rotation=(Pitch=-16384,Yaw=0,Roll=0)
    bSelected=True
End Actor
Begin Surface
End Surface
End Map
Basically the same happened as when I used jumpto, x and y worked but not Z.


Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Spanky on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 12:26:03 PM
I know in the editor, the map has your last viewpoint spot saved inside of it, maybe that could be messed with. Still though, not all maps are centered on 0,0 x,y so it would be a little tough. Plus, if you make rooftops have Invisible surface flags, you'll get rendering errors due to the zone portals so you couldn't render the inside of he building, just the outside. I really don't know how the devs did it, they must have spent a shit ton of time working on it.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Alex on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 14:37:59 PM
I know in the editor, the map has your last viewpoint spot saved inside of it, maybe that could be messed with. Still though, not all maps are centered on 0,0 x,y so it would be a little tough. Plus, if you make rooftops have Invisible surface flags, you'll get rendering errors due to the zone portals so you couldn't render the inside of he building, just the outside. I really don't know how the devs did it, they must have spent a shit ton of time working on it.
Honestly I think the easier way would be to just delete all of the roofs to take the shot. However, in the case of multiple floor buildings I have no idea how it was done. Maybe multiple images for each map?
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 14:42:52 PM
If it would be possible to ensure the viewport to be in exactly the same location(x,y,Height) it would be possible to take 1 screenshot, then edit map to expose the next layer, then take another shot.

I'll take a look into doing some uscripting in the editor. I know it's limited in what you can to when you run U-Script in the editor.. but the only way I know is to do it with a custom builderbrush.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 20:00:50 PM
I've been able to create a button in unreal Ed that run an UnrealScript that allows you to align then top left viewport and set x,y and z, it also sets FOV and RendMap.

What remains:

Find a way to resize the viewport to 512x512( or even perhaps 1024x1024)
Grab the Screen, and save the current picture(Of the viewport only), so that you can take consecutive pictures that you then can merge in your favorite Paint program.

 

Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Spanky on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 20:46:06 PM
That's something I'd like to see, larger and clearer SAI images. If you get this setup, I'll take new screenshots for all maps and put them in the package.

Other concerns of mine would be all the actor icons and aliasing (I haven't tried forcing anti-aliasing in the editor but heard it causes problems).
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 22:33:07 PM
Other concerns of mine would be all the actor icons and aliasing (I haven't tried forcing anti-aliasing in the editor but heard it causes problems).

You know of any Actor properties that would make them show even if you are not inside their Zoneinfo...
Or can you "Break" the Zones so that all Actors are visible?
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Spanky on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 23:06:12 PM
It's not a problem of actors not being visible, it's a problem of actor icons that you only see in the editor. Like lights, triggers, levelinfo, zoneinfo. Do you know of a way to hide those in the editor? I've never found one.

Here's something that illustrates my point:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/464376/aac_maap/screenshots/UnrealEd%202013-07-04%2023-27-46-17.png
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 23:45:59 PM
It's not a problem of actors not being visible, it's a problem of actor icons that you only see in the editor. Like lights, triggers, levelinfo, zoneinfo. Do you know of a way to hide those in the editor? I've never found one.

Here's something that illustrates my point:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/464376/aac_maap/screenshots/UnrealEd%202013-07-04%2023-27-46-17.png


Sure, select 1 of the ZonInfo's, then right click on the same Actor, Select/Select all ZoneInfo's
Then click on the Eye in this picture, repeat for all classes you want to hide:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/62876385/Actor.png

Don't do this for all classes, for instance, if you hid an TerrainInfo.. the terrain itself will be hidden....
I think all the eye does is to set the Actor Property Advanced/bHiddedEd
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Alex on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 23:49:16 PM
That's something I'd like to see, larger and clearer SAI images. If you get this setup, I'll take new screenshots for all maps and put them in the package.

Other concerns of mine would be all the actor icons and aliasing (I haven't tried forcing anti-aliasing in the editor but heard it causes problems).
Indeed it does. I couldn't select anything in the editor with AA forced through the AMD CCC.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Spanky on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 23:51:14 PM
Yea, that's the thing, you're hiding the whole actor, not just the icon.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 23:52:48 PM
My problem is that when I'm viewing the map from above in Dynamic Lighting, Zones are popping in/out when I pan Around/Zoom
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Spanky on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 23:54:47 PM
After you've removed roofs? You can remove the ZoneInfo actors but the ZonePortal ones are just regular brushes, no real way to differentiate as far as I can tell.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 23:55:56 PM
Well, 1 solution would be to select all the Actors you want to hide.. and set the Display\Texture Property to nothing...
Could be used to make a screenshot without Actor icons showing, Just don't save Afterwards :)
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Spanky on Thursday, August 22, 2013, 23:59:06 PM
That's the kind of lateral thinking we needed here ELiZ.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Friday, August 23, 2013, 13:08:19 PM
I've found the setting that makes it work in 2.8.5
It's a option called "No Zone Culling"
And it's located in the same as the other show commands Right Click\View\Show blablabla

I'm mapping out the Flags to see if this option exist in 2.5, but not documented or visible in the editor
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Sunday, August 25, 2013, 23:45:54 PM
I've found the setting that makes it work in 2.8.5
It's a option called "No Zone Culling"
And it's located in the same as the other show commands Right Click\View\Show blablabla

I'm mapping out the Flags to see if this option exist in 2.5, but not documented or visible in the editor

None of the flags available were any good to change this.

I'm working out a workflow that allows me to take any picture(be it 512x512 or 1024x1024), and then afterwards correct the x,y,Zoom to match that in the picture.

Only really limitation is that the image must be taken 100% from above with no other rotations.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Sunday, August 25, 2013, 23:50:17 PM
I've Prepared SAI Images from two maps that isn't included already

t_maps_sai_mp_breakout
t_maps_sai_mp_sf_refinery

I took the MP_Breakout from the DropBox a few hours ago.
The problem in taking the picture is how to handle multi level Maps

These remain:

Code: [Select]
MP_Aztec
MP_Berg
MP_Bridge_Construction
MP_City_Block
MP_Glass_Kill_House
MP_Ice
MP_Monkey_Island
MP_PBall
MP_Rummage
MP_SF_Contingency
MP_SF_Office_Assault
MP_Shipment
MP_Square
MP_TehYetisLair
MP_Urban_Assault_SE

I'll continue with adding new SAi images.
Tell me here if you plan to Edit a map enough to warrant a new SAI Image


 
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Monday, August 26, 2013, 00:36:01 AM
Here is the 1024x1024 taken from the Editor's Perpective view

(https://aao25.com/forum/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi44.tinypic.com%2F28u0njn.png&hash=e4db687c1e3a8119a3447cf21c83f895)

I'm not an gfx artist, so there could probably be work done to make the image look good.

I added the actor
Code: [Select]
Begin Map
Begin Actor Class=AGP_Viewpoint Name=AGP_Viewpoint1000
    Location=(X=0,Y=0,Z=2000)
    Rotation=(Pitch=-16384,Yaw=0,Roll=0)
    bSelected=True
End Actor
Begin Surface
End Surface
End Map

I then Hid the icons for all the Actors I didn't want visible inside editor.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Spanky on Monday, August 26, 2013, 00:44:29 AM
I have an idea, what about using the Viewpoint but in-game? If you start a LAN server but don't pick a team, you can browse around. Delete the other Viewpoints, hide your hud, turn on Anti-Aliasing and setres 1024x1024 in the console. Course, you'd have to hide stuff in the editor and then build the map but it would yield a pretty good shot. I might play with that for Pipeline.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Monday, August 26, 2013, 00:46:36 AM
Can you make sure the rotation of the Viewport is

Code: [Select]
Rotation=(Pitch=-16384,Yaw=0,Roll=0)


Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Spanky on Monday, August 26, 2013, 00:49:45 AM
Yea. You also have to set CanRotate or whatever the variable is to no in the editor.

*EDIT*
Nevermind, that doesn't exist. But, you could limit rotation to 1 degree by putting 1 in the LimitPitch and LimitYaw boxes.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Monday, August 26, 2013, 00:52:00 AM
Best would be if you can get viewport to the same location and rotation time after time, allowing 1 ss to be taken of floor1, and then a second of underground, then you can merge the 2 in Photoshop.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Spanky on Monday, August 26, 2013, 00:53:09 AM
Best would be if you can get viewport to the same location and rotation time after time, allowing 1 ss to be taken of floor1, and then a second of underground, then you can merge the 2 in Photoshop.

I'll give it a go for Pipeline so don't bother with that one yet. I haven't even finished the lighting in the tunnels yet.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Monday, August 26, 2013, 01:08:27 AM
I'll give it a go for Pipeline so don't bother with that one yet. I haven't even finished the lighting in the tunnels yet.

MP_Pipeline have had a SAI image from the first release :)

Nothing special, almost decent
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Spanky on Monday, August 26, 2013, 01:12:44 AM
Right, but I've changed the wall outside and it would be nice to have inside the building.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Monday, August 26, 2013, 01:48:25 AM
These 4 done today:

Code: [Select]
MP_Breakout
MP_Monkey_Island
MP_SF_Refinery
MP_Shipment

Theses 13 remain
Code: [Select]
MP_Aztec
MP_Berg
MP_Bridge_Construction
MP_City_Block
MP_Glass_Kill_House
MP_Ice
MP_PBall
MP_Rummage
MP_SF_Contingency
MP_SF_Office_Assault
MP_Square
MP_TehYetisLair
MP_Urban_Assault_SE
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Monday, August 26, 2013, 02:43:38 AM
Done
Code: [Select]
MP_Urban_Assault_SE
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Monday, August 26, 2013, 03:18:37 AM
Done
Code: [Select]
MP_Square
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: JonnyM on Monday, August 26, 2013, 03:37:05 AM
Your in Europe right? Do you work night shifts or are you nocturnal.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Monday, August 26, 2013, 04:03:30 AM
Your in Europe right? Do you work night shifts or are you nocturnal.

When I'm not on a fixed schedule, I'm keeping a 26 hour days.
Fits my internal clock, but it also makes me to be awake at some odd hours now and then.
I'm from Sweden btw
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Possessed on Monday, August 26, 2013, 11:20:36 AM
ELiZ Wayne
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Rapture on Monday, August 26, 2013, 12:24:45 PM
r u guys planning on taking out any maps? ex: yetis lair, pball





Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: JonnyM on Monday, August 26, 2013, 13:25:12 PM
We are planning to remove all the maps except bridge urban and hospital.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Ganja on Monday, August 26, 2013, 13:26:56 PM
Oh no don't remove Pipeline !! :D
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: idklol111 on Monday, August 26, 2013, 13:33:15 PM
We are planning to remove all the maps except bridge urban and hospital.

just about time
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Monday, August 26, 2013, 22:06:07 PM
Done
Code: [Select]
MP_Glass_Kill_House
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Monday, August 26, 2013, 22:48:03 PM
Done

Code: [Select]
MP_Ice
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Tuesday, August 27, 2013, 01:06:54 AM
Done

Code: [Select]
MP_SF_Contingency
Spent around 3 hours taking screenshots in UnrealED, paste in PS, edit, masking resizing it to fit all together.
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Rapture on Tuesday, August 27, 2013, 01:46:27 AM
We are planning to remove all the maps except bridge urban and hospital.

-_-

Ur pretty fast at getting these done. nice
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Tuesday, August 27, 2013, 02:13:07 AM
Done
Code: [Select]
MP_SF_Office_Assault
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Tuesday, August 27, 2013, 02:59:00 AM
Done
Code: [Select]
MP_Bridge_Construction
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Tuesday, August 27, 2013, 04:14:59 AM
Redone to latest Dropbox Version
Code: [Select]
MP_Petrol
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Tuesday, August 27, 2013, 04:58:06 AM
Done
Code: [Select]
MP_Rummage
At the moment these remain

Code: [Select]
MP_Aztec
MP_Berg
MP_City_Block
MP_PBall
MP_TehYetisLair
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: [SWISS]Merlin on Tuesday, August 27, 2013, 06:16:54 AM
again great job ELiZ!
thank you. and btw, very welcome back :)
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: Ganja on Tuesday, August 27, 2013, 06:20:40 AM
very welcome back :)

Did he ever leave? :D
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: bollie on Tuesday, August 27, 2013, 12:20:43 PM
Did he ever leave? :D

im happy he is here!  :style:
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Tuesday, August 27, 2013, 23:53:52 PM
Done
Code: [Select]
MP_Aztec
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Wednesday, August 28, 2013, 01:03:46 AM
Done
Code: [Select]
MP_Berg
Title: Re: SAI Map images
Post by: ELiZ on Wednesday, August 28, 2013, 02:15:54 AM
Done
Code: [Select]
MP_City_Block