Forum

ASSIST, AMERICA'S ARMY COMMUNITY - RELIVE THE GLORY DAYS OF AMERICA'S ARMY 2.5


Author Topic: Limited Framerate  (Read 5441 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BrutalBellend

Limited Framerate
« on: Tuesday, April 07, 2020, 10:13:15 AM »
I only get 87 FPS while playing AA, my GPU is only at 7% and my PCU is only at 5%, does anyone know if AA has a limit? Or if anyone has had a similar problem that was remedied, please share details.
On another note MSI Afterburner causes CE. Anyone know why?

Offline teddy_grizzly_bear

  • Used to be known as nobody
  • Administrator
  • Epic Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 5,366
  • what are you looking at?
    • View Profile
  • AA: teddy_grizzIy_bear
Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday, April 07, 2020, 13:48:59 PM »
Games from this era are not multi-threaded and thus won't take advantage of more than one core/thread.
So if that is the usage of your entire modern CPU, then you'll find that AA only runs on one of those threads. And if what it's doing is saturating that thread, I could wager a guess that you have a 16 thread CPU.

As for MSI Afterburner, I've got no idea. The actual error might help, though.


"Mathematics may be defined as the subject in which we never know what we are talking about, nor whether what we are saying is true." Bertrand Russell

Offline Possessed

  • bWpnRecoil == False;
  • Administrator
  • Epic Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3,566
  • You suffer, but why?!
    • View Profile
    • nsfw
  • AA: Possessed
Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday, April 07, 2020, 15:28:04 PM »
AA2 is a DirectX 8 game, so it is normal to run at lower fps.
These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.
John 16:33


Offline phuNkiii.ops

Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday, April 08, 2020, 08:18:11 AM »
Setting the game to run on just one core used to raise fps

Offline BrutalBellend

Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #4 on: Wednesday, April 08, 2020, 15:18:34 PM »
Games from this era are not multi-threaded and thus won't take advantage of more than one core/thread.
So if that is the usage of your entire modern CPU, then you'll find that AA only runs on one of those threads. And if what it's doing is saturating that thread, I could wager a guess that you have a 16 thread CPU.

As for MSI Afterburner, I've got no idea. The actual error might help, though.
Close it's got 12 vcores ;) lol
But surely the workload on games like this are done by the GPU?

I would gladly copy the error text but I'm having to use my phone to use the forum, as on the pc the link for login doesn't work on Mozilla, Chrome or IE for some reason. 

Offline hitman

Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #5 on: Wednesday, April 08, 2020, 15:36:00 PM »
Anything above 60fps is unnecessary luxury really in my opinion  :down: .. some pro players might feel the difference, but I personally don't (but then again, my monitor is 60Hz)

Offline M3dUSA

Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #6 on: Monday, April 20, 2020, 09:38:48 AM »
I only get 87 FPS while playing AA, my GPU is only at 7% and my PCU is only at 5%, does anyone know if AA has a limit? Or if anyone has had a similar problem that was remedied, please share details.
On another note MSI Afterburner causes CE. Anyone know why?

If you go into your User.ini located in the System folder. Find Netspeed and change it to any value above 10000. I personally don't go above 20000 as I've seen negative gains around 25000 (in terms of ping).

Then go to your ArmyOps.ini folder and do a search for framerate, change your max desired framerate to the framerate you desire (I have a 144hz monitor, I set it to 144)

After doing this, everytime when loading into the game do Netspeed ##### (ex. Netspeed 20000) in the console. Any number greater than 10000 and your FPS will be unlocked to your specified number maximum

Also your question about workload, AA isn't multi threaded and is VERY CPU intensive. the GPU really just has to be good enough which for the most part is any semi modern GPU (including integrated)
« Last Edit: Monday, April 20, 2020, 09:42:32 AM by M3dUSA »

Offline Possessed

  • bWpnRecoil == False;
  • Administrator
  • Epic Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3,566
  • You suffer, but why?!
    • View Profile
    • nsfw
  • AA: Possessed
Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #7 on: Monday, April 20, 2020, 10:03:46 AM »
I'm using Direct3D9, improves the FPS a bit, I have a way to set the netspeed automatically to 10001, but I'm not sure when I will be able to release these.
These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.
John 16:33


Offline [F.U.N]Cpt

Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #8 on: Monday, April 20, 2020, 17:55:56 PM »
works fine. minimum fps on Residence 120. mini laag is gone. i play d3d9 with 1920x1080.  :up:

Offline Possessed

  • bWpnRecoil == False;
  • Administrator
  • Epic Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3,566
  • You suffer, but why?!
    • View Profile
    • nsfw
  • AA: Possessed
Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #9 on: Tuesday, April 21, 2020, 05:48:21 AM »
Game SSs:
d3d8 NetSpeed 10000
http://prntscr.com/s37889

d3d8 NetSpeed 25000
http://prntscr.com/s3797v

DX9 for aa2.5 is WIP...

d3d9 NetSpeed 10000
http://prntscr.com/s37bm8

d3d9 NetSpeed 25000
http://prntscr.com/s37cjs
These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.
John 16:33


Offline [F.U.N]Cpt

Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #10 on: Wednesday, April 22, 2020, 05:23:41 AM »
this temps, hahahahaha

Offline Possessed

  • bWpnRecoil == False;
  • Administrator
  • Epic Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3,566
  • You suffer, but why?!
    • View Profile
    • nsfw
  • AA: Possessed
Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #11 on: Wednesday, April 22, 2020, 07:13:02 AM »
my GPU reachs 100c easy :)
These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.
John 16:33


Offline teddy_grizzly_bear

  • Used to be known as nobody
  • Administrator
  • Epic Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 5,366
  • what are you looking at?
    • View Profile
  • AA: teddy_grizzIy_bear
Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #12 on: Wednesday, April 22, 2020, 08:14:32 AM »
my GPU reachs 100c easy :)
If the surface area is large enough, it could double as a frying pan :)


"Mathematics may be defined as the subject in which we never know what we are talking about, nor whether what we are saying is true." Bertrand Russell

Offline [F.U.N]Cpt

Re: Limited Framerate
« Reply #13 on: Thursday, April 23, 2020, 17:31:55 PM »

 

Download Assist

×

Download Game Client

Important: Battletracker no longer exists. However, old Battletracker accounts may still work. You can create a new 25Assist account here

Download Server Manager